Government and Industry Innovators Recognized for Advancing IT

10 government and industry leaders honored at InnovateIT Awards Luncheon.

The AFCEA Bethesda chapter awarded both government and industry change agents for their part in advancing IT within their organization and governmentwide, at its 10th Annual InnovateIT Awards Luncheon on June 1. The awards were presented in Washington, D.C., and included innovation in business and citizen interaction resulting in improved efficiencies and cost savings. The theme of the day coined by keynote speaker David Bray, chief information officer of the Federal Communications Commission, was “leadership is passion to improve our world.”

The winners of the InnovateIT Awards are:

  • Outstanding Achievement Award, Civilian: Sarah Fahden, verification program chief, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, Department of Defense: Mark Goodge, chief technology officer, Military Health System
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, Citizen: Kevin Hagen, director of corporate responsibility, Iron Mountain
  • Emerging Leader of the Year, Government: Jimmy Mehra, director of System Configuration and Delivery Automation Division, Patent and Trademark Office
  • Emerging Leader of the Year, Industry: David Ruskin, deputy program manager, Salient CRGT
  • Technology Trailblazer: Tim Wood, web reengineering project lead, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Mission Excellence Enabler: Ian Sturken, web and cloud services manager and enterprise application architecture co-lead, NASA
  • Data Dynamo: Erica Kain, assistant to the director of the Food and Nutrition Services, Agriculture Department
  • Workforce Development Trendsetter: Andrea Ippolito, lead of the Innovator's Network, VA Center for Innovation, Veterans Affairs Department.
  • Security Forerunner: Rami Dillon, senior information security officer, Patent and Trademark Office